Files & Forms Archive

Thursday, January 15, 2015

The Boarder for 1/13/2015

A Publication for The Boarder the CFSD Community
A Summary Report of the January 13, 2015 CFSD Governing Board Meeting

CFSD Star Award

The CFHS State Champion Boy’s Swim/Dive Team with Jonathan Andrade, Scott Bockisch, Jack Burgess, Brandon, Coverdale, Atharva Deshmukh, Andy Duffield, Brooks Fail, Matt Lujan, Matthew Paulsen, Sean Seyller, Jack Hadley, Martin Hocheder, Sam Mulay, John Greener and Coach Ed Walters were honored, and received individual certificates and pins in recognition of their outstanding performance.

CFSD Star Award

The CFHS State Champion Girl’s Cross Country Team of Layla Anderson, Margo Buys, Maya Collier, Allison James, Michelle Jaquette, Sarah Lansey, Hallie Nitido, Katie Pekarske, Richelle Sandin, Ally Vanasco, Katie Watson, Hannah Whetzel and Coach Mike Smith were honored, and received individual certificates and pins in recognition of their outstanding performance.

CFSD Star Award
The CFHS State Champion Chess Team of Aida Cancio, Nicholas Johnston, Rohan Mittal, Josh
Pennock, Emma Wing and Coach Robby Adamson were honored, and received individual certificates and pins in recognition of their outstanding performance.

Community Schools
Our middle school robotics team, Local Legends, won the FIRST Lego League (FLL) state championship competing against more than 60 other teams from across Arizona. The team will represent Arizona at the LEGO World Festival in April 2015 in St. Louis, Missouri. The team members are Alex Chiu, Wesley, Chiu, Michael Gross, and Josh Tint. Their teacher/coach is Charlotte Ackerman. Code Name: JASON with Esperero 8th graders Sean Bergan, Andy Liaupsin, Alex Melde, Jason Peper and Jackson Tint won the Robot Strategy and Innovation Award at the FIRST Lego League tournament. The award recognizes a team that uses  engineering practices and a well-developed strategy to design and build an innovative, high performing  robot. Coach Kerrie Bergan, an Esperero parent, won the Vivian Chen Adult Coach/Mentor Award  (AZ FLL Coach of the Year) for her work with Code Name:JASON as well as mentoring other Foothills teams.

Orange Grove Middle School
Zoe Benson was accepted into the 8th grade All State Band, and Torrence Schurig was named an alternate. Bryan Nunez has been selected for a trainee position with the Academy Drum and Bugle Corps. The Academy is a 21 and younger group that begins taking members at age 15. Since Bryan is quite a bit younger, his selection reflects his capable musicianship. The eighth grade chess team placed third in the 2015 Arizona State Grades Championships last weekend. The team consisted of Rueshil Fadia and RyanThompson. Ryan also received an individual 5th-place trophy .

Catalina Foothills High School
The CFHS Speech & Debate team achieved a 1st place finish in the Winter Trophy Tournament in
Paradise Valley Dec. 5-6. Four students also won individual 1st place in their events: Payton Baker in
Extemporaneous Speaking, Sena Maruflu in Prose, Alexander Relich in Varsity Public Forum Debate, and Sumhith Aradhyula in Varsity Public Forum Debate.Their teacher/coach is Chris Lambert. The following CFHS athletes were named to The Arizona Daily Star's 2014 All-Southern Arizona Football Team:

Patrick Stevens - Second-Team Defense;
Ian Turner and Grant Hubble - Third-Team Offense
James Dick, Miles Goldsmith, Connor Kobylinski, Dakota
Kordsiemon, Max Michalczik, and Rhett Rodriguez -Honorable Mention.

The CFHS wrestling team placed 5th as a team at the Cholla Duals Tournament. Placing individually were

Jacob Davis and Zach Davis - 1st place champions;
Mario Trujillo - 3rd
Nathan Buterbaugh - 4th
Michael Orlandella and James Dick - 5th
Ryan Martz - 6th.
Zach Davis was also voted as the Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament. Their coach is Greg Bishop.

On January 6, 30 CFHS students competed in 10 events at the annual DECA Southern District
Competition at the Eller College of Management, UA. Our team had 9 1st place winners, 15 runners up, and 9 medals for exam scores. 1st Place: Amir Gaber, Alex Justus, Krystal Kennedy, Thalia Korte, Alex Lopez, Fernanda Lopez, Matt Rosenberg, Stephanie Treanor, and Anna Williamson. Runners Up: Nikki Baim, Emily Bleaman, Caitlin Darnyi, Sofia Gerhart, Kelly Hart, Perry Hutchison, Britney Johnson, Maddy Mack, Regina Miranda-Robles, Olivia Shaw, Grant Sturtevant, Stephanie Valenzuela, Demarques Wilson, and 2 other students. Medals for Exam Scores: Kelly Hart, Krystal Kennedy, Ben Kurtzman, Fernanda Lopez, Diego Nunez, Matt Rosenberg, Eric Ruboyianes, Grant Sturtevant, and Stephanie Treanor. Their teacher/coach is Ryan Morales.

Election of Governing Board President and Vice President
The governing board members elected Carole Siegler as board president and Eileen Jackson as vice president for 2015.

Consideration of High School Course and Program Changes (first reading)
Associate Superintendent Mary Jo Conery presented the first reading of the proposed changes to high
school courses and programs for implementation in the 2015-2016 school year. The changes included the replacement of Forensics: Applied Chemical and Physical Analysis with AP Biology as an option in the second year of the CTE/JTED – Bioscience Pathway; elimination of biology as a required 9th grade course and permitting students to take it in either their 9th or 10th grade year; and the addition of a Chinese summer immersion experience abroad as an elective.

Arizona School Boards Association Annual Conference Report
Board members reported on the informative sessions they had attended at the December conference.

Consent Agenda Items
The governing board approved the following consent agenda items.

  • December 9, 2014, regular governing board meeting minutes
  • December 9, 2014, executive session board meeting minutes (confidential)
  • Expense voucher memorandum
  • Field trip memorandum
  • Personnel memorandum
  • Gift and Donations memorandum
  • Terms and Conditions for Acceptance of Monies from Building Renewal Grant Fund

Upcoming Board Meeting
The next regularly scheduled governing board meeting is Tuesday, January 27, 2015, 6:30 p.m., Catalina Foothills High School, Building 4, Room 712.

The tentative agenda is:
• Recognition of Super Volunteer
• Approval of High School Course and Program Changes (second reading)

• ASBA BOLTS Training Report

Please welcome new CFSD staff members:

Kimberly Krause, Special Ed. Teacher, OGMS
Peggy Jacobsen, EA Inclusion, CFHS
Elaine Nelson, EA Inclusion, MZ
Eileen Ratajczak, Accountant, MAC

You know how long this takes to format? I hope someone is reading this.